Instagram Has Stopped Sending Screenshot Notifications For Stories

Recently in February, Instagram started notifying users if someone took a screenshot of the stories they post. While it was a helpful tool for some, it became a nightmare for stalkers. Whenever someone screenshotted a story, the person would be sent a push notification with the username. It was received well by some of the users but others felt it was becoming another SnapChat. However, the company announced that the feature is no longer in effect. People can now go back to screenshot their friend’s funny photos without them knowing it. The company told the news to Instagram News yesterday.

If you are new to Stories, here is a simple explanation. Stories are a famous way of uploading videos or photos which disappears after 24 hours. It will be visible to every one of your followers until the time is over. It is meant to upload media which are not so important posting but not less important to share. However, many people use to take screenshots of them and share it around using another messaging medium which is not time sensitive. Hence, Instagram brought out the Screenshot feature.

The changes were confirmed by us too. Previously, when someone took a screenshot of the story, a star-shaped icon would be displayed next to the username. Now, space is empty with only the username and no addition icons indicating anything. The feature was implemented quite well with the company notifying the users whenever they took a screenshot. It read, “Next Time you take a screenshot, the person who posted the story will be able to see it”.

The Screenshot Feature

When Instagram came up with the Screenshot feature, it said that “We are always focusing on ways to improve user’s experience on Instagram. We want to make it easier for people to share any moment with others which mattered”. The feature was launched and yes, it was a copy of the ever-existing feature of Snapchat. Snapchat notifies users whenever a person takes a screenshot of the stories or chat messages. However, there are many means to take a screenshot without knowing people know. One of the most common methods to take a screenshot was to use a screen recorder. The screen recorder will record the screen and then the user can pause the video and take a photo out of it. It was an easy method but it required more operations than usual.

Decision To Remove The Feature

While the feature was not really bad, somehow Instagram decided to remove it. One of the primary reason for removing is that the loss of user engagement. Instagram noticed a decrease in their user engagement and hence decided to take down the feature. Now, people can easily take screenshots without using any extra tools or methods. Moreover, the feature was available in some countries only. In many countries, Instagram did not notify the users in the first place hence it did not seem much of a problem for the majority of users. However, Instagram has rolled back the update and now people can screenshot stories without any double thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *